Supporting Municipalities and LAEDA

The AAEDC is financially supported by the Lakes Area Economic Development Authority (LAEDA) along with annual appropriations from Douglas County and a number of townships.

The AAEDC works in partnership with the Lakes Area Development Authority to meet their overall goals. Because of the long-term nature of many initiatives and investments needed to continue to grow our community, stable funding is crucial to the success of economic development efforts.

The Lakes Area EDA meetings are held at 4 pm at 324 Broadway on the following dates in 2024:

Business Strategic

The LAEDA model is the first of its kind in Minnesota to bring together communities and townships under a formal structure with designated EDA powers.


A formal partnership between the City of Alexandria and Garfield, and the Townships of Alexandria and LaGrand that is considered to be an innovative model in addressing local, long-term economic development issues across geographical boundaries.

LAEDA Members

City Of Alexandria

City Of Garfield

Alexandria Township

LaGrand Township

Annual Appropriations Received

Brandon Township

Carlos Township

Hudson Township

Lake Mary Township

Douglas County